Day 27 – My Patterns Arrived!

When we got home from work last night I was so excited to see a large brown envelope sticking out of our mailbox! It looked as though the mail carrier could only shove a corner in the mailbox to make it stay. But, I didn’t care if it looked cramped: they were here!

So, I can finally start making some clothes! I forgot how much work was involved in a fresh pattern. So far I have only cut 6 of the 10 pattern pieces I need to make my new dress. It doesn’t help that I inherited these extremely shaky hands from my father. Thanks, dad. The constant vibrating makes it really difficult to cut the delicate tissue the pattern is printed on. But, success! I haven’t ripped a pattern piece yet!

Hopefully tonight, after softball, I can get some more cutting done! And maybe even start sewing! Here’s hoping! My goal is to have this dress finished within the week.

How does this apply to my etsy shop? It doesn’t…. yet. I can’t sell my clothing for a reasonable price yet because it would take me too long and the cost wouldn’t justify the time spent. Adam says it would be ridiculous for me to think that I could open an etsy store, start sewing again for the first time in years, and sell well-made clothing right away. I hate when he’s right.

In the meantime, I have a whole list of ideas to sell:

1. Baby swaddlers with initials embroidered on them. Made from 100% cotton muslin. Mothers I know swear by these, especially when they are rather large.

2. Adam really wants me to embroider closed eyelids with eyelashes on the sleep masks. I might make one and force him to use it. 😉

3. Small home decor. I’m working on an embroidery piece right now for my brother and his wife that will say “Home is where your stuff is”. Sell it with a frame to hang as a house warming gift?

From the research I’ve been doing about etsy, the most successful stores are the ones that have over 50 listings. I better get to work if I want my items to sell, I guess. How am I ever going to come up with 50 things to sell? I can’t just list 50 different colours of sleep masks.

Send me more ideas! I love feedback and I love stealing your intellectual property using your ideas with your permission!

Leave a Reply

