Day 28 – My full-time job is my full-time job.

I am lucky to have a full-time job that I don’t hate. I would even say I like it. I don’t have any negative relationships with any one in my office, I get to dress in my own style (to a point, of course. It is still an office), my daily tasks are interesting and varied, and my boss is extremely nice and invested in my education and progression of career.

It just makes me a bit sad that it took me this long to figure out that I desperately enjoy crafting and that I should have made this my goal from the beginning. It’s easy to say “I should have gone to school for something creative and started an apprenticeship instead of studying math theory and becoming an administrative assistant”. (I hope you are making your voice deeper and sarcastic when reading that.) I can say those things but honestly, I wouldn’t really change the last 8 years of my life. (Holy shit. It’s been 8 years since I started university.) I met my husband at my first week of university and my best friend through the part-time job I got trying to finish university. I wouldn’t really change anything.

I am, however, trying to change the present. Every day I go to work I wish I were staying home instead. I have day dreams of spending my working day at my table: cutting, sewing, measuring, walking to the post office to ship items, and maybe taking myself out for lunch every once in a while. I really want this to work.

The problem is that I think I need the full-time hours available to make my dream come true as quickly as I want. I barely have part-time hours to commit to it. Maybe that’s why I gave myself the year to do this. Past Naomi knew I wouldn’t have the time to make a running start at this. She knew it would have to be a slow crawl to the finish line. For once, Past Naomi didn’t screw me over. She was actually helpful. Does that mean I’m growing up?

I got an hour or so last night to keep working on my dress. I have one piece left to cut out and then I can start sewing! I will also be going to the fabric store down the street from our apartment tonight to pick up a zipper, a hook-and-eye set (eek! I’ve never sewn one on before!) and some nice fabric to make a blouse next.

I may have to prioritize. I’m doing a lot of sewing for myself in the next few weeks. I’m justifying it by saying it will help teach me to use my sewing machine in ways I’ve never been able to. Yeah, it’s like school. You can’t be a professional until you go to school, right? Riiiiight?

Anyways, I will update you when I’m done, whether it’s good or bad or some of both. Hopefully it’s good. It’s summer and I have no summery office clothes. I’m about to reach my breaking point and I don’t think my boss would appreciate if I wore my tiny bunny-print dress to the office….

Leave a Reply

