Day 44 – Why buy handmade?

I read an article this morning about why handmade products are better than mass produced products. The reason I wanted to share this article is because point number 6 makes so much sense to me and explains how I’ve been feeling lately. 

6. As a Gift

Everyone loves getting gifts! But if you had the choice between receiving a gift made with care from a local craftsman or it’s mass produced equivalent, bought from a big-box store, which one would you appreciate more? When surveyed, over 90% of people said they would appreciate a handmade gift more than one made in a factory. Also, taking reason number four, people appreciate gifts when they are unique rather than similar. People want something they can call theirs, something unique. So, next time you can’t think of a gift idea for a friends upcoming birthday, or your anniversary, look at some handmade products!

The items I make are intended as gifts. I want people to look at my store and say “yes, Jenny would love that for her new bathroom!” or “that’s exactly what I want to give my mom for Christmas”. I make handmade items because I love to make handmade items.

The point of this project is to be able to make my passion into my career and I may have lost focus by focusing on me instead and what I want to wear. It doesn’t help that summer is my busiest season socially and all my weekends are packed solid. I haven’t accomplished any of the goals I set out this week. Sigh. Maybe I should have started this project in the fall when I’m less likely to ditch everything to sit outside. 

I’m just making excuses, really. If this was giving me money up front, I’d be more willing to put my time into it but that’s not how this type of thing works. I have to make an effort because I see a reward. Now I just have to remember that every time I get discouraged. 

Leave a Reply

