Day 114 – Creating a Schedule

Obviously it’s been a slow month in terms of the etsy store. However, in terms of life, it’s been a crazy month of cramming in time with friends, attending a wedding and Thanksgiving. Now that summer is officially over (I know, I’m sorry I mentioned it) I have fewer spontaneous events (read: too many patio beers) and far more weekly structured events. Adam and I have come up with a schedule for me so that I can actually consider this a part-time job.

Reasons to create a schedule instead of working when I have free time:

1. It forces me to sit down at specific times each week to work on products.

2. I won’t be putting this off each week saying “I don’t have any time”.

3. I now have to treat this as a part-time job and not a hobby. Want to hang out Monday evenings? Sure, but you’re going to have to come to my house and watch me sew.

4. I’ve been day-dreaming a lot lately about working from home. Dreaming about it and not working on it is leaving me extremely dissatisfied.

5. I won’t be over-doing it. With set times to work I won’t be ignoring my social time. If it’s not on the schedule, I’m not working. Mind you, there will be exceptions for movie-watching related activities. Sometimes a girl just needs to be knitting to stay awake through a movie!

So the new schedule is as follows: Monday 6 pm to 9 pm, Thursday 6 pm to 9 pm and Sunday 1 pm to 7 pm (approximate – the start time is based on when we finish brunch and groceries).

I know what you’re thinking… last night was Thursday! Surely I have something to show for it! Well, considering I came up with this plan yesterday I don’t have a lot to show. I did, however, work on Wednesday night. I have 6 sleep masks that just need finishing touches. I’ve even improved them to be thicker which makes them feel softer and blocks more light out.

I will also be making a trip to my favourite craft store this weekend to take advantage of my brother-in-law’s discount and stock up on knitting needles, yarn and embroidery thread.

So, I’m back after nearly a month off and I’m ready to work!

Leave a Reply

