Day 117 – I need a card reader

Part of selling items on Etsy is having nice photos of your things to demonstrate to buyers that you have nice items. If your photos suck then your item will probably get passed over in that long list of items from other sellers. You will most likely click on the item that pops out at you and looks nice in the thumbnail photo.

My parents are ever supportive of whatever project I’m currently working on. My mom has loaned me her very nice camera indefinitely (although, I’m unsure if she knows that….) and I’ve spent some time taking photos of my items. I spent Sunday (my very first official shift) sewing some sleep masks and taking photos of them. They look awesome even if I can’t prove it to anyone other than myself and Adam. My sewing skills have drastically improved and I think I’ve got the hang of this photo taking thing but I won’t know until I can get the photos on the computer to edit and review.

Aaaaaand there’s the rub. The camera is a bit too old and the device driver software is too out of date for this computer. Maybe. That’s what Adam told me. I don’t actually understand computers that well and have no idea why the device software won’t download. I now have to purchase a card reader for the memory card in the camera to get the photos from the camera onto the computer.

UUUUUUUGH. No single part of this is fun for me. I wish I could hire a business manager to do all the boring behind-the-scenes for me. Too bad I can’t even afford to pay myself and Adam doesn’t work for free either.

I was hoping that I would have items for sale this week. It’s only 8.5 weeks until Christmas and I need to list my items if I want a chance of hitting the Christmas gift crowd. I guess I will buy an $8 card reader this week and hopefully Thursday I will be able to finally edit my photos and add several items to my store.

Tonight is my second official work day for Illusion of Creativity and it’s a bust. I was going to work on the computer. I guess I’ll just put on some TV and finish the commissioned embroidery art for my brother. Oooooooh well. (I’m not actually that mad. I like watching TV and embroidering.)

Leave a Reply

